Annual Essay Contest


Each year, an essay contest is co-sponsored by the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (NSDAR) and the National Italian American Foundation (NIAF) on a topic related to Christopher Columbus, for high school students throughout the United States.  The national winner receives a $1,200 prize and an all-expense-paid trip to Washington to read the essay at the Columbus Day event in Washington.  The second place winner receives $500 and the third place winner receives $300. 


Essays are to be typewritten and no more than 750 words long. 


The essay contest began in 1997, and each of the winning essays may be read by clicking on the links below.


1997 - Crissia Ahuna Reay


1998 - Ryan A. Stoner


1999 - John Victor Danford


2000 - Craig L. Bucki


2001 - Winchester Adkins


2002 - Mary Colene Burns


2003 - Ami Patel


2004 - Monika Grzesiak


2005 - Irtefa Anwara Bibte-Farid


2006 - Catharine Magdalene Wingfield Clayton


2007 - Hayley Schoeppler


2008 - Christina Jean Moazed


2009 - Naomi K. Wells


2010 - Lucas A. Hadley


2011 - Taylor Barnhart